top of page
  • Writer's picturetechelp4u

Minimal IT


When you work in a large company or government agency, there seems to be an IT department to help you out. when you are a Mid-sized or small business - what do you do? I get asked a lot of questions about computers, working for the government in/on/with computers. Let me say again, I get a lot of questions.


One reason for starting this blog and business - yes, I am a small business - I found many different people looking for a source of information; sometimes looking for a starting place.


When I was a government employee, I was willing to share everything I had with anyone who was interested in listening. Today, for a fee, I am happy to listen and provide input.


One area I often see overlooked, what to do with a Single Person IT department? Often, some person who has an interest in IT becomes the default IT department. Recently I heard, "...I don't know, go ask Steve."



Many times this person can answer the question(s) and has become the "go to" guy. What happens when your "go to" guy takes a vacation or gets sick or has to deal with a sick child or worse, leaves your company?


Having a consultant can help. Keep in mind, bringing on an IT guy can provide structure:


- Document solution(s)

- Identify and backup critical files

- Answer questions

- Update systems or rollback systems


Recently I worked with a very successful automotive repair shop. This business will soon have to make changes to update their systems; test software they use daily for compatibility, etc.



530-240-4678

We live, thrive and survive in a very dynamic world. Many times I can remote onto a system to help out. Occasionally, I have to fly to someone's business to help with a long term project. There are many times where I work on the weekend or evening with a company to ensure we are minimizing down time. Mostly, I am on retainer as a resource to just answer the everyday questions that crop up. Lately, I have been tasked with helping a growing company hire/train a new resource. Let's talk.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page