top of page
  • Writer's picturetechelp4u

I think I might have a virus...


How many times have I heard this phrase? More times than I care to admit. First, let's begin with, "How do you know this?"


Obviously, something has changed from the last time you were on the computer. I know it and you realize there is something different.


Rest assured, there is some reason we are here. My hope is you are planning for "The Worst". Your plan should be:


1. Save your important files to another location. This can be the file you are working on; Pictures, bookmarks, etc. There are many options available today. There are companies that will keep an entire copy of your file system safe.


2. Remove all single points of failure. This can be a hard drive (Think cloud backup or separate external storage). Power Failure. If this computer holds your life, make sure you replace the battery(s). Maintain your system by having it cleaned. Most times this can be done for $65.00. Keeping your system "clutter free". I cannot tell you the number of times I have to remind folks in my family to please not let the cat sleep on the cover of the laptop. Consider the purchase of an external battery backup.



3. Keep the system up-to-date. This is a tricky one. I have been hired on a contract to come in every 6 weeks and tune-up computers, desktops, laptops, phones, etc. This is an honesty with "yourself" point. Will you really read up on all of the patches, tests and failure points? If the answer is NO, then it is time to bring on a consultant. My goal is to prevent, as much as possible, within reason, the loss of files, communication, phone numbers, pictures, etc.


4. Protect your computer and your information at all times. I am speaking to the novice and the "guy". I can remember a detective getting locked out of his home computer and having to pay the fee for the code; I know of several in the banking industry who have suffered from the same fate. As always, DO NOT open emails from strangers. Just as you would not speak with them on the street.... I hope.


We have all been there. Trust me, I can remember telling several Law Enforcement officers to write in Word and use the copy paste features. The tools found in Microsoft Office are invaluable. Really. Automatic save, spell check and more.


Legal teams, lawyers, hospital administrators, administrator, IT folks (who know better) - everyone should use your local or company provided office applications to their full potential.


Please keep in mind, recovery of drives begins at $5k! There is no guarantee, they will be able to recover anything. This is just to run the tools!!!!


If we plan for a disaster, my hourly fee looks like a bargain. One final point. Nothing is guaranteed. If the file is important, keep several copies in multiple locations - think cloud, version 1/original file; USB drive, last saved; desktop, working version. With a bit of thought and planning your valuable time and energy are as happy as you would be knowing you have a copy of the file.


Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need a plan. 530-240-4678 or via email, techelp4u@outlook.com. Together we can make a plan for your company or yourself.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page